Totara Hospice

Totara House is expanding the In Patient bed unit which provides 24 hour In-Patient medical and nursing care from 9 to 12 beds during 2013/14. This will gradually be increased to our full capacity of 20 beds as funding permits over the next 3 – 5 years. Admission may be for symptom control, short term respite care, or terminal care when this is no longer possible at home.
We provide the highest possible degree of comfort, peace and dignity.


Hospice Philosophy

Hospice History

The modern hospice movement came into being with the opening of St Christopher’s Hospice in Sydenham in London in 1967. Its founder, Cicely Saunders (later Dame Cicely), a nurse who subsequently trained as a doctor, resolved to do something when a patient she had befriended in 1948, Davis Tasma, a Polish refugee, discussed with her the idea of establishing more homely places where people could die in greater tranquillity than was currently the case. When he died, he left Saunders a bequest of ₤500 in the hope that she might establish such a home, with the now famous appeal: ‘Let me be a window in your home.’ That window now exists in the entrance lounge of St Christopher’s.

Totara Hospice South Auckland is the result of the inspiration of the late Rev Francis Fennell a retired Anglican Priest and a small group of people who shared his dream to provide hospice care in the Auckland area. In 1981, support groups were formed in Papakura, Manurewa and Papatoetoe with Howick forming at a later date. At Easter 1990, a seven bed In Patient facility was opened at Kelvin Grove.

For many years it was recognised that Totara Hospice South Auckland required a purpose built facility to become the hospice home and following years of seeking a suitable location the present site was purchased and Totara House was built. On 19th April 1999 it was occupied with the official opening held on 3rd October 1999.

The Hospice now forms an integral part of the health system in South Auckland. The service encompasses a wide area including the whole of Manukau City, Otahuhu and Papakura.